Thursday, February 26, 2015

WRT 2015 Pleasanton Open - Preview

The World Racquetball Tour (WRT) has the second of back to back events this weekend with the Pleasanton Open in Pleasanton, California. Polo Gutierrez is the #1 seed this weekend, coming off his win at the Mt Rainier Pro-Am last weekend in Seattle with last weekend’s runner up - Alejandro Cardona - the 2nd seed. It’s a strong field, similar to what we saw in Seattle.

As per usual, they are playing doubles in Pleasanton, and that field is more wide open, as the top three singles players are not playing doubles. Thus, top seeds Anthony Herrera and David Horn, who are the 5th and 4th seeds, respectively, in singles, should be the favorites to win doubles.

But there are at least two strong teams on the bottom of the draw in 2nd seeds Jaime Martell and Mario Mercado and 3rd seeded Ecuadoran team of Jose Daniel Alvarez and Jose Daniel Ugalde.

The Round of 32 will begin Friday morning with the Round of 16 to follow late Friday afternoon and evening. The quarterfinals and semi-finals on Saturday and the final on Sunday at noon PDT. You should be able to watch the action live on Saturday and Sunday via the WRT website.

2015 WRT Pleasanton Open
Pleasanton, California

Round of 32

1) Polo Gutierrez - BYE
16) Kenny Green Jr. v. 17) Junior Rodriguez

9) Francisco Troncoso v. 24) Jeff Stark
8) Alexi David Cocco Hayes v. 25) John Churchwell

5) Anthony Herrera v. 28) Armando Villa
12) Mario Mercado v. 21) Miguel Rodriguez Jr

13) Felipe Muñoz v. 20) Stephen Wattz
4) David Horn - BYE

3) Jack Bredenbeck - BYE
14) Jose Daniel Alvarez v. 19) Fahd Abidi

11) Jose Daniel Ugalde v. 22) Dima Wert
6) Jaime Martell v. 27) Mauro Rojas

7) Danny Lavely v. 26) Kevin Alejandro Rios Hernandez
10) Daeyong Kwon v. 23) Amir Jabbari

15) Chase Robison v. 18) Kyle Severns
1) Alejandro Cardona - BYE

Doubles Round of 16

1) Anthony Herrera & David Horn - BYE
8) Dima Wert & Stephen Waltz v. Tim Annear & Brian Klee

5) Kenny Green Jr. & Chase Robison v. 12) Claude Hagopian & Armando Villa
4) Mauro Rojas & Francisco Troncoso - BYE

3) Jose Daniel Alvarez & Jose Daniel Ugalde - BYE
6) Felipe Muñoz & Miguel Rodriguez Jr. v. 11) John Churchwell & Jeff Stark

7) Dan Diodati & Ninja Nomura v. Freddy Flores & Nick Irvine
2) Jaime Martell & Mario Mercado - BYE

Follow the bouncing ball….

IRT Florida Pro-Am Preliminary Round Results

No real surprises so far in the qualifying rounds at the International Racquetball Tour (IRT) Florida Pro-Am in Sarasota, Florida. The 10th and 13th ranked both won their matches to move into the Round of 16 on Friday. Tenth ranked Charlie Pratt won in three straight games against Wesley Miller, but Miller did keep it close, losing 11-5, 11-9, 11-9.

Jose Diaz defeated Matt Fontana, 11-2, 11-7, 11-5, Thursday to create a Jose-Jose match in the 16s on Friday, as he’ll face Jose Rojas tomorrow.

One surprise win Thursday was pulled off by Cuban Noslen Jimenez Garcia who defeated Colombian Sebastian Franco, 8-11, 11-8, 11-5, 11-7, and will now play IRT #1 Rocky Carson in the 16s Friday.

Also, as anticipated left hander Robert Collins and Floridian Mike Harmon had a barn-burner of a match with Collins coming out on top in five games, 9-11, 11-4, 9-11, 11-9, 11-9. He’ll play Jansen Allen, the 8th ranked IRT player, in the Round of 16 on Friday.

The IRT Network will carry the action live over the web beginning on Friday morning.

2015 Florida Pro-Am
Sarasota, Florida

Preliminary Round 1

Nolsen Jimenez Garcia d. Mike Isbell, 11-3, 11-0, 11-0
Sebastian Franco d. Roberto Leyes Jr, 11-5, 11-2, 12-10
Wesley Miller d. Andres Acuña, 1-11, 6-11, 13-11, 11-8, 11-7
Mike Harmon d. Michael Andrew Barrett, 11-2, 11-1, 11-3

Destry Everhart d. Guy Coggins, 11-6, 11-3, 11-3
Teobaldo Fumero d. David Stincer, 11-3, 11-8, 11-2
Jose Ubilla d. Nick Hand, 11-6, 15-13, 11-5
Matt Fontana d. Jeremy Best, 11-5, 11-9, 11-3

Felipe Camacho d. Kevin Vazquez, 11-7, 11-4, 5-11, 11-7
Andres Ramirez d. Gabriel Garcia, 7-11, 11-5, 11-7, 11-7

Preliminary Round 2

Q8: Noslen Jimenez Garcia d. Sebastian Franco, 8-11, 11-8, 11-5, 11-7
Q1: Charlie Pratt d. Wesley Miller, 11-5, 11-9, 11-9

Q4: Robert Collins d. Mike Harmon, 9-11, 11-4, 9-11, 11-9, 11-9
Q5: Tim Landeryou d. Destry Everhart, 11-5, 14-12 11-4

Q6: Alejandro Herrera v. Teobaldo Fumero
Q3: Matthew Majxner v. Jose Ubilla

Q2: Jose Diaz d. Matt Fontana, 11-2, 11-7, 11-5
Q7: Felipe Camacho d. Andres Ramirez, 11-8, 12-10, 8-11, 11-9

Main Draw of 16 (with seeding)

1) Rocky Carson v. Noslen Jimenez Garcia
8) Marco Rojas v. Charlie Pratt

5) Jansen Allen v. Robert Collins
4) Daniel De La Rosa v. Tim Landeryou

3) Alvaro Beltran v. Q6
6) Ben Croft v. Q3

7) Jose Rojas v. Jose Diaz
2) Kane Waselenchuk v. Felipe Camacho

Follow the bouncing ball….

IRT Florida Pro-Am Preview

The International Racquetball Tour (IRT) returns this weekend with the Florida Pro-Am in Sarasota, Florida. The top nine IRT players are in the draw, including #1 Rocky Carson and #2 Kane Waselenchuk. They were last year’s finalists in this event, when Waselenchuk defeated Carson in three games.

There are two rounds of qualifying Thursday to set up the Round of 16 on Friday. The most interesting qualifying match could be left hander Robert Collins versus Floridian Mike Harmon, although Harmon has to defeat Michael Andrew Barrett to set that up.

There’s a likely Jose-Jose battle in the Round of 16, if Jose Diaz makes it through qualifying, as he would then play Jose Rojas in the 16s in what would be a 209 showdown, because both Diaz and Rojas are from the Stockton, California, which has 209 as its area code.

The IRT Network will carry the action live over the web beginning on Thursday afternoon.

2015 Florida Pro-Am
Sarasota, Florida

Preliminary Round 1

Mike Isbell v. Nolsen Jimenez Garcia
Sebastian Franco v. Roberto Leyes Jr
Wesley Miller v. Andres Acuña
Mike Harmon v. Michael Andrew Barrett

Destry Everhart v. Guy Coggins
David Stincer v. Teobaldo Fumero
Jose Ubilla v. Nick Hand
Matt Fontana v. Jeremy Best

Preliminary Round 2

Q8: Mike Isbell or Nolsen Jimenez Garcia v. Sebastian Franco or Roberto Leyes Jr
Q1: Charlie Pratt v. Wesley Miller or Andres Acuña

Q4: Robert Collins v. Mike Harmon or Michael Andrew Barrett
Q5: Tim Landeryou v. Destry Everhart or Guy Coggins

Q6: Alejandro Herrera v. David Stincer or Teobaldo Fumero
Q3: Matthew Majxner v. Jose Ubilla or Nick Hand

Q2: Jose Diaz v. Matt Fontana or Jeremy Best
Q7: Felipe Camacho or Kevin Vazquez v. Andres Ramirez or Gabriel Garcia

Main Draw of 16 (with seeding)

1 Rocky Carson v. Q8
8 Marco Rojas v. Q1

5 Jansen Allen v. Q4
4 Daniel De La Rosa v. Q5

3 Alvaro Beltran v. Q6
6 Ben Croft v. Q3

7 Jose Rojas v. Q2
2 Kane Waselenchuk v. Q7

Follow the bouncing ball….